CHC33021 or CHC43121? Choose the Right Disability Support Qualification

CHC33021 or CHC43121? Choose the Right Disability Support Qualification

CHC33021 or CHC43121? Choose the Right Disability Support Qualification

Disability Support Course Comparison
CHC33021 or CHC43121?

One qualification helps build direct-support capability. The other is a progression pathway for workers ready to operate with greater independence and responsibility.

By Pathway Select Editorial Team Victoria Reviewed 28 July 2026
Disability Support Comparison
CHC33021 or CHC43121?

Understand which course is the starting qualification and which is designed for progression.

Pathway Select Editorial Team Victoria 28 July 2026
Start with the progression structure

These qualifications are designed for different stages of disability-support work

CHC43121 is not simply a more impressive alternative that every new student can choose instead of CHC33021.

CHC33021 Certificate III in Individual Support can provide the foundation for person-centred direct support in community, home or residential settings.

When packaged with the disability specialisation, it can also provide the qualification pathway required for entry into CHC43121 Certificate IV in Disability Support.

CHC43121 is designed for people supporting greater independence, self-reliance, community participation and wellbeing while working without direct supervision. Workers may also supervise or coordinate a small team.

15 Units in CHC33021
10 Units in CHC43121
120 CHC33021 work hours
Entry CHC43121 requires prior study
Adult learner comparing disability-support qualification pathways with an adviser.
Recommended image: an adult learner comparing the Certificate III and Certificate IV disability-support progression pathway with an adviser.
Compare the qualifications

What each course is intended to develop

CHC33021 · CERTIFICATE III

Certificate III in Individual Support

This qualification reflects work performed under supervision and delegation as part of a multidisciplinary team.

Students learn to follow an individualised plan and provide person-centred support in community, home or residential-care settings.

  • 15 units: 9 core and 6 electives
  • At least 120 hours of direct support work
  • Available with disability-focused electives
  • Work is performed under supervision and delegation
  • Can form the entry pathway into CHC43121
CHC43121 · CERTIFICATE IV

Certificate IV in Disability Support

This qualification reflects more specialised disability-support work across community settings and people’s homes.

Workers promote person-centred practice, contribute to individualised plans, support people with complex needs and work without direct supervision.

  • 10 units: 7 core and 3 electives
  • Formal qualification-entry requirements
  • Greater focus on complex needs
  • Includes mental-health and compliance capability
  • May include small-team supervision or coordination
The normal progression logic

Foundation first, specialised responsibility second

STAGE 1

Build direct-support foundations

CHC33021 develops the core skills needed to provide individualised support, promote independence and wellbeing, communicate effectively, work legally and safely, and recognise healthy body systems.

To progress into CHC43121, confirm that the Certificate III includes the required disability specialisation.

STAGE 2

Develop specialised disability-support capability

CHC43121 moves into behaviour supports, social inclusion, ongoing skills development, complex needs, legal compliance, mental-health support and greater workplace autonomy.

The course may also support progression into senior-worker, team-leader or coordination responsibilities, depending on the role and employer.

Side-by-side comparison

The practical differences that should guide your decision

Swipe horizontally on smaller screens to view the complete comparison.
Decision factor CHC33021 CHC43121
Qualification level Certificate III. Certificate IV.
Primary purpose Building foundation skills for providing person-centred individual support. Developing specialised disability-support capability and greater workplace responsibility.
Entry requirements The national qualification does not state a formal prerequisite. Providers may apply their own entry and readiness requirements. Requires an approved disability-focused Certificate III pathway or an older approved qualification plus the required entry skill set.
Number of units 15 units: 9 core and 6 electives. 10 units: 7 core and 3 electives.
Work requirement At least 120 hours of direct support work. No single qualification-level minimum-hour figure is stated. Individual units or provider delivery may still require workplace or simulated assessment.
Work supervision Work is performed under supervision and delegation. Work is performed without direct supervision and may include small-team supervision or coordination.
Complex needs Builds core direct-support capability through individualised plans. Includes person-centred services for people with complex needs as a core area.
Mental health Mental-health learning depends on the provider’s elective packaging. Working with people with mental-health issues is a core unit.
Potential student fit New entrants and students building direct-support foundations. Qualified workers seeking specialist disability-support or higher-responsibility capability.
Do not miss this requirement

CHC43121 has formal entry requirements

A provider should not present CHC43121 as an unrestricted beginner course. The national qualification specifies one of the following approved entry pathways.

01

Completion of CHC33021 Certificate III in Individual Support (Disability).

02

Completion of the superseded CHC33015 Certificate III in Individual Support (Disability).

03

Completion of CHC30408 Certificate III in Disability together with CHCSS00125 Entry to Certificate IV in Disability Support Skill Set.

A provider may also apply language, literacy, numeracy, digital-literacy, employment or workplace-readiness conditions. These additional requirements vary and should be disclosed before enrolment.

Placement and practical assessment

Do not assume the Certificate IV has another fixed 120-hour placement

120

CHC33021 has a defined minimum

Students must complete at least 120 hours of direct support work as part of the qualification.

Ask who arranges the placement, where it can occur, how hours are recorded and what happens when a host is delayed.

CHC43121 practical requirements

There is no universal qualification-level hour figure

CHC43121 is not listed with one mandatory minimum work-placement total at qualification level.

That does not mean every assessment can be completed through theory alone. Individual units may require workplace or simulated conditions, access to individualised plans, sector resources and realistic disability-support environments.

Confirm the provider’s complete practical-assessment model before enrolling.

What changes at Certificate IV

The difference is not only more knowledge—it is greater responsibility

01 · AUTONOMY

Working without direct supervision

CHC43121 reflects work performed with greater independence. Students should be prepared to make appropriate decisions within organisational and legal boundaries.

02 · COMPLEXITY

Supporting more complex needs

The core structure includes person-centred services for people with complex needs, established behaviour supports and ongoing skills development.

03 · LEADERSHIP

Coordinating or supervising others

Workers may supervise or coordinate a small team. Actual authority depends on the employer, position description and workplace structure.

Experienced disability-support worker participating in person-centred planning in an Australian community setting.
Recommended image: an experienced disability-support worker participating in person-centred planning with a colleague in a respectful Australian community setting.
Choose according to your position now

Which qualification may fit your current situation?

I have no disability-support qualification

Investigate CHC33021 first

CHC43121 has formal entry requirements. A disability-focused CHC33021 course may provide the foundation and recognised progression route.

I hold CHC33021 without disability electives

Ask the provider to verify your transcript

Holding the general or ageing specialisation does not automatically prove that you satisfy the disability-specific entry requirement. The provider must check your qualification and statement of attainment.

I already hold CHC33021 Disability

CHC43121 may be the relevant progression comparison

Compare the provider’s electives, delivery model, practical assessment and intended job outcomes before committing.

I already work in disability support

Ask about credit transfer and recognition

Existing qualifications may support credit transfer, while relevant workplace evidence may be considered through recognition of prior learning. Neither outcome should be assumed before formal assessment.

I want to become an NDIS support coordinator

Check the actual elective package

CHC43121 can include electives covering preparation for NDIS support coordination and coordination of participant support. Those electives are not automatically included by every provider, and completing them does not guarantee a role.

Victorian course funding

Could both qualifications be available through Free TAFE?

The Victorian Skills Gateway currently marks both CHC33021 Certificate III in Individual Support and CHC43121 Certificate IV in Disability Support as Free TAFE courses.

Eligible students may have tuition fees covered. Other costs such as student services, materials, screening, uniforms, travel or placement expenses may still apply.

Free TAFE eligibility does not remove the CHC43121 qualification-entry requirement. A student must satisfy both the course-entry conditions and the applicable funding rules.

!

A Free TAFE listing is not personal approval. The provider must verify your previous qualification, assess funding eligibility, confirm a funded place and disclose every applicable fee.

Use Pathway Select verification

Check the qualification codes before contacting a provider

COURSE-CODE CHECK

Verify the code being advertised

Use the course-code checks to confirm whether the qualification is current and whether an older code is being presented.

Check CHC33021  ·  Check CHC43121

Interactive pre-enrolment check

Confirm these points before choosing a provider

Tap each item after receiving a clear answer. Nothing is submitted or stored.

Questions students ask

Frequently asked questions

Can I enrol directly in CHC43121 without Certificate III?

Not through the standard national entry pathway. CHC43121 requires an approved disability-focused Certificate III, or an older approved disability qualification combined with the specified entry skill set.

Does any CHC33021 qualification qualify me for CHC43121?

The stated entry requirement is CHC33021 Certificate III in Individual Support with the disability specialisation. Ask the provider to inspect your certificate and transcript rather than relying only on the qualification code.

Is CHC43121 better for getting an NDIS job?

It may support more specialised disability-support capability, but it does not guarantee employment or a particular NDIS role. Employers assess experience, screening, duties, suitability and the needs of the position.

Does CHC43121 require work placement?

The qualification does not state one universal minimum placement-hour total. Individual units and provider delivery may still require workplace or realistic simulated assessment. Confirm the exact requirements before enrolling.

Does CHC33021 require work placement?

Yes. Candidates must complete at least 120 hours of direct support work as part of the qualification.

Can both courses be available through Free TAFE?

Both are currently marked as Free TAFE courses in Victoria. Personal eligibility, entry requirements, funded-place availability and additional costs must still be confirmed.

Can I receive credit for units already completed?

Credit transfer may apply where you have already completed equivalent units. Recognition of prior learning may also be available for relevant experience and evidence. The provider must formally assess both.

Evidence and transparency

Sources and information checked

0 comments

Leave a comment